Anything worth talking about, is worth blogging about

Canada wins!

Team Canada has won the 2012 IIHF Women’s World Championship! The United States won second, and the surprise bronze medal winner was Switzerland, who had their best finish ever. Congratulations to all the medal winners. This is Canada’s tenth win, and first since 2007. The final rankings are as follows:

  1. Canada
  2. United States
  3. Switzerland
  4. Finland
  5. Sweden
  6. Russia
  7. Germany
  8. Slovakia – Relegated to Division IA for 2013

Barring a change in format, the groups for the 2013 tournament will be:

Pool A Pool B
Canada Sweden
United States Russia
Switzerland Germany
Finland Czech Republic

Based on their finishes, Sweden and Switzerland have qualified for the 2014 Winter Olympics, where they will join Canada, the United States, Finland, and Russia. The two remaining spots will go to the winners of qualification tournaments.

The 2013 edition will be held April 2–9, 2013 in Ottawa.

Feel free to leave a reply.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Tag Cloud

%d bloggers like this: