Anything worth talking about, is worth blogging about

An unusual thank you

It’s close to Thanksgiving south of the border, so I thought I’d take the time to offer a thanks for something else. That something else is connected to the fact that I have been blogging for about half a month short of two years. During that time, there have been a lot of attempted spam comments here.

Just after logging in today, I learnt that number 1200 had been blocked earlier today.

So, Akismet deserves thanks for blocking all of them and making by blogging life easier.

You might be asking, “What’s so special about 1200 spam comments?” Well, nothing. Had it been (say) 1215 spam comments I wouldn’t have written this post. 1200 is a just a round number, that’s all.

Comments on: "An unusual thank you" (7)

  1. Does that 1200 include my comments?

  2. I was going to say. I’m pretty sure just I left more than 1200.

  3. Sometimes, if a spam comment is particularly entertaining, I’ll just remove the links from it and leave it.

  4. Wait a minute. I just thought about what you said. You blocked 1200 spam comments in TWO YEARS!? Seriously!? Two years!? I see more attempts to spam my not blog in a week. I clean out my spam folder daily and, when I do, there are typically a little over 300 in it.

  5. The day after your last comment, I end up with 38 spam comments, including one in Russian and one in Greek. Of course, it’s just a coincidence. There’s no reason to think you caused them.

  6. Well, my first spam comment showed up the day I signed up for GG, followed by 85 others. I went to bed and there were over 200 in the morning. Spamming has been that heavy on my not blog since, even though I’ve sinc deleted my GG account.

Feel free to leave a reply.

Tag Cloud

