Anything worth talking about, is worth blogging about

…because they do. They really, really, fucking do.

Comments on: "Please don’t tell me that conservatives don’t hate women…" (12)

  1. I don’t think the problem is that they hate women so much as they love themselves and their view so much that they’re willing to hurt anyone and everyone who stands in the way, even if it be a female rape victim.

    Some might say that’s even worse than hating women, however. I don’t know. It’s tough to call.

  2. I suppose that could be an explanation.

    As a matter of fact, they might actually be different manifestations of the same thing: us vs. themism. In one case, it’s “uppity women” and in the other it’s “people who challenge my beliefs/people in my way”.

  3. It could be that “those uppity women are trying to destroy MY America” without any regard for the possibility that those uppity women might be wanting to make it better.

  4. To the conservative mind, the world is always going to hell and we’re already halfway there.

  5. The world IS always going to hell. However, my solution is not to get it there faster, which seems to be the strategy of some of these conservatives.

  6. I’m pretty sure that most (fundie types excepted) aren’t maliciously trying to destroy the world. Most of their policies are bad, and are a far cry from the respect for existing institutions, incrementalism, etc, that characterizes conservatism outside of (mostly) the US.

  7. Yeah well, they have their religious reasons for what they do is all I’m saying, and you know that WILL take the world to hell faster.

  8. I agree with you regarding fundie types who want to destroy the world so as to hasten the second coming, but such doesn’t apply to secular conservatives.

    Speaking of fundies hastening the Second Coming, I think that is sacriligous. Wouldn’t an amnipotent omniscient God take His sweet time and come back when He’s good and ready? This is yet another reason why it ought to be clear that fundamentalists have the weakest faith of all.

  9. It reminds me of MacBeth.

  10. In high school, I hated Shakespeare, but I guess it is kind of like Macbeth.

  11. I hated Shakespeare in high school too. It wasn’t until I got to experience him for fun, rather than following orders, that I started liking him. I even parodied Shakespeare in an away status not too long ago. Longest away status ever because I parodied the entire To Be Or Not To Be soliloquy from Hamlet.

  12. I still don’t like him.

Feel free to leave a reply.

Tag Cloud

